« Call Me Gorgeous by Giles and Alexandra Milton - review | Main | I, Q by Roland Smith - review »

Saturday, August 15, 2009

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Stiefvaters Shiver is the Twilight heir-apparent. It debuts as #5 on the NYT best seller list for YA, and its GOOD! Love, longing, and werewolves! And the sex (off camera) happens in the first book. Literary allusions! Nimble, descriptive writing. Did I mention werewolves?

re: VC Andrews, while I love the Salinger theory, wikipedia seems to says shes an actual person:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V._C._Andrews

Paula, I left it off b/c I havent read it, and because Im totally gonna!Peter, Salinger wrote the VC Andrews wikipedia entry himself. Covering his tracks. Hes also an obsessive facebooker, under the name of Michael Phelps.

Annette Curtis Klause's book THE SILVER KISS needs to be on your list, too. Although I haven't read the Twilight books, I have a feeling Meyer read The Silver Kiss and was definitely influenced by its plot and attractive vampire. Her books are anemic in comparison.

I know Mary - I read Silver Kiss and I thought, "What the heck? Is this not EXACTLY Twilight?" For my money, a vampire that can go out in the daylight is just not very spooky. Klause hits it much better.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment



I am proud to be a Round I Panelist in the Fiction Picture Books category of the Cybils Awards this year!

Everything on a waffle

Become a Fan

pinkmeblog - View my 'banners' set on Flickriver

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter

    Goodreads

    Networked blogs widget

    • Networked blogs widget

    Google friend connect

    • Google friend connect
    Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported
    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

    blog advertising is good for you!

    StatCounter

    • StatCounter